top of page

My very first 10 K (sort of)....


So, I"m pretty sure that some people will cringe when I write this and they will wonder why...BUT, I participated this past Easter weekend in one of the most famous runs in Nola...the Crescent City Classic. By participate, I totally mean I walked it...but it was a 10 k, AKA 6.2 miles walked, yes I did! I went with 2 friends who walked and jogged the way, but going into it, I made no promises that I would do any sort of running. To me, walking 6.2 miles before noon that Saturday was a pretty awesome accomplishment in and of itself.

To explain how huge of a deal it is, the Crescent City Classic is the region's premier 10 K road race and one of the oldest 10 k races in the nation. It started in 1979 with 902 participants and has since grown to become THE fitness event across Louisiana. Each year now, 20,000 people gather in downtown New Orleans for this event which attracts everyone from elite athletes to those (like me) who walk the entire route. This particular race with the first 10 K to be televised nationally and has been hailed as "the originator of the party race". Today, the Crescent City Classic Brand has expanded to include 4 more races throughout the year: The St Patrick's Day Classic, a 2 mile run; The Crescent City Connection Bridge Run, a 4 mile race across the MS river; the Crescent City Fall Classic, a 5 k qualifier for the Classic; and the Celebration in the Oaks Run/Walk, a unique 2 mile run through the Christmas light show in grand City Park.

As far as my personal experience went, it was definitely a sight to take in everywhere downtown! Each of us had our own numbers and colors depending on if you qualified, how well, whether you were in it to walk or run and by charity. The charity I donated to was Covenant House, because in college, I worked at a home for runaways and that cause has always held a special place in my heart. So, anyways, as we were dropped off downtown and started walking to where each 'corral' was, I observed many people from many different walks of life. I observed the 'die hard's' that were already running up and down the sidewalks 'practicing' I guess....and also people who were dressed up in costumes, tutus, and other themed group fun things. I saw groups of friends and families, corporate groups, individuals, people with strollers and wagons of kids and small kids themselves who were going to make the trek with their moms and dads. My immediate thought was that my 5 1/2 year old would have rather seen Disney burn than for me to have made her walk for 6.2 miles. My next thought was then that I really needed to re-evaluate my parenting ideas of activity for her in the next few weeks. Other people there for the race included wheelchairs and prosthetic limbs. Just about everyone was representing and excited to be there. I realized later on that there were groups that weren't necessarily participating in the race itself but lined themselves up along the route to pass out not only water and snacks, but jell-o shots and beer! There were small musical groups along the way that had totally volunteered their time to be there and keep the morale going along the route!

So, as I forced my friends to jog when they wanted, I said goodbye and kept on my steady walking pace, all the way to the end. After we met up for a beer and some orange slices, Even though I didn't run a single step along the way, I felt such a sense of accomplishment to have done the Classic from start to finish. It really was a lot of fun every step of the way and I think we are going to make it an Easter tradition now. Maybe next year I can compromise with my daughter about doing it with me....a Disney trip if she completes it with me....but maybe I'll bring the wagon along too, just in case.....

The vast number of people lined up behind us and in front of us was

truly amazing!!......


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page