top of page

One size fits all?....Not so fast!!!!


The phrase 'one size fits all' has been used as a common cliche phrase for over 5 decades now. It's a description of a product that would fit in all instances and scenarios. There are both positive and negative uses of this phrase, however. For the purposes of my blog post, I will use examples relating to fashion and beauty. Some items that I suppose could be considered 'one size fits all' and not exclude very many people may include: necklaces, watches, hats, scarves and gloves. The problem with this approach is that just as the phrase implies, just one size does not, in fact, fit ALL...

Regarding clothing especially, the best advice anyone can get is to select clothes that fit YOUR body instead of a generic body type the One Size label states. Let's use jeans for an example, a very necessary part of one's general wardrobe, a base for most all looks, even including a 'casual Friday' work day. Most all brands these days taut a 'perfect fit' jean, with a hint of spandex in the fabric...so, I guess depending on the jean brand, type, etc you may can search no more when you find the right one for you. For me, it was Jessica Simpson brand jeans, Kiss Me Super Skinny. Absolutely zero muffin top and realistic wear for work, meaning no holes, faded pattern or anything like that. Just a great fitting jean with a little bit of give and skinny leg so flats or sandals really compliment the look. It really is a matter of not settling for a muffin top, I use to just think I had no choice in the matter and chose tops that were way big so you couldn't see the muffin underneath, but what ended up happening was I looked pregnant and was not! So, once I accepted that I wasn't the same size from when I was 20, or keeping ten pairs of those size jeans in my closet that I would 'one day fit in again', I had a talk with myself about living life NOW and wearing what was 1) comfortable and 2) what worked for ME. So, with some brand shopping around, making sure that spandex was listed in the fabric make, I found my fave size and fit for me and I haven't looked back since. Regarding a 'One Size Fits Most' label, I usually take that to mean that I am excluded from that group and I just move on to the next rack. I"m not upset by that like I used to would have been, I simply pick up the garment with that label and eyeball it and seeing that it looks like it may fit up to a medium sized person, I move on and am done. No hard feelings. Because there are way more choices. Because I keep educating myself on what works for me, for my body and am not only at peace with that now, but I am actually excited to shop for ME again!


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page